•     EN
  • HOME

    • - Objectives
    • - Chairman's Message
    • - Legco Representative
    • - Honorary Presidents
    • - General Committee
    • - Key Councils & Committees
    • - Industry Groups
    • - Secretariat
    • - Gift Gallery
    • - Links


    • - Training Centre
    • - Q-Mark Certifications
    • - D-Mark Design Certification
    • - Intellectual Property Centre
    • - Origin Certification and Trade Declaration
    • - Government Funded Projects
    • - Mainland Support
    • - Trade Opportunity
    • - Advertising & Promotion
    • - Venue Rental Services
    • - Event Management & Secretarial Support


    • - Members' Directory
    • - Membership Benefits
    • - Membership Application Form
    • - Application for Additional Group
    • - BOC UnionPay FHKI Dual Currency Platinum Card
    • - Membership Information Update
    • - Group Re-allocation Application
    • - Permanent Membership
    • - Membership Search


    • - What's On
    • - Past Event Highlights


    • - Mainland China
    • - Overseas


    • - Press Release
    • - Submissions
    • - Industry News
    • - Job Opportunities
    • - Tender Notice


    • - Hong Kong Industrialist
    • - Annual Report
    • - Research & Papers
    • - Members’ Directory



  • NEWS

    10 May 2017                                                                      

    Call for Nominations opens for Young Industrialist Awards of Hong Kong and Industrialist of the Year Award 2017

    Federation of Hong Kong Industries (FHKI) Chairman Prof Daniel M Cheng announces today (Wednesday) that nominations for the Young Industrialist Awards of Hong Kong (YIAH) and Industrialist of the Year (IOY) Award 2017 are now open.

    This year also marks the 30th anniversary of the establishment of the YIAH. Prof Cheng says, “The Awards primarily aim at giving recognition to young industrialists who have made distinguished contributions to Hong Kong’s economy and social development, injecting new momentum into Hong Kong industries by encouraging more young people to serve the sector and promote innovations, as well as enhancing the public recognition of the economic contributions and importance of local industries.”

     He also notes that the Awards have motivated many past awardees to devote more effort and contributions to the industries and community. Not only do they form the backbone of the industrial sector, they also devote themselves to various public services and draw up strategies for the betterment and prosperity of Hong Kong.

    “In recent years, judges of the Awards place great emphasis on the candidates’ innovative ideas, technical applications on research and development, as well as their branding capabilities. In pursuit of sustainable industrial development, we must make consistent efforts in enhancing our competitive edge by integrating technology and creativity to improve productivity,” he adds.

    In today’s technology-driven society, Prof Cheng reckons that successful industrialists must keep pace with technological advancement and be capable of applying technology and innovation, so as to differentiate themselves in the fiercely competitive market and prompt sustainable business growth.

    The FHKI first organised the YIAH in 1988 to give public recognition to young industrialists for their exceptional achievements in industries and commendable contributions to the economic and social development of Hong Kong. In 2002, the FHKI introduced the IOY to the award list to honour an exemplary industrialist with distinguished achievements in the industrial field each year.

    Every year, the FHKI invites experienced members from different sectors to form a Judging Panel. This year, the Panel is chaired by MTR Corporation Limited Chairman Prof Frederick Ma. Other members include:
    1. Permanent Secretary for Innovation and Technology Cheuk Wing-hing;
    2. Gold Peak Industries (Holdings) Limited Chairman and Chief Executive Dr Victor Lo;
    3. Vocational Training Council Executive Director Dr Carrie Yau;
    4. BDO Limited Special Adviser Albert Au; and
    5. FHKI Chairman.

    The 2017 Awards are sponsored and supported by various organisations. Sponsors of the Awards include the Bank of China (Hong Kong) Limited, China Construction Bank (Asia) Corporation Limited, HSBC Commercial Banking, Shanghai Commercial Bank Limited, Hong Kong Science & Technology Parks Corporation and Hong Kong Young Industrialists Council. CLP Power Hong Kong Limited is the Awards’ publication sponsor. AQUEEN, the brand of WCJ (Holdings) Co Limited, is the trophy sponsor. Supporting organisations include the Hong Kong Export Credit Insurance Corporation, Hong Kong Productivity Council, Hong Kong Trade and Development Council, the Professional Validation Council of Hong Kong Industries and Trade and Industry Department.


    Cookies and other technologies
    By Clicking “Accept,” you agree to the use of FHKI and third-party cookies (and other similar technologies) to enhance browsing experience as well as analyse and measure content engagement. You can withdraw consent by clicking on the link at the bottom of the page.
    © Copyright 2014 Federation of Hong Kong Industries. All rights reserved. This website is best viewed using IE10 or higher or Google Chrome.DisclaimerPrivacy Policy